Melting Away

It's alive! For now....

It’s alive! For now….

It has been ridiculously hot lately and it doesn’t look like it’s letting up any time soon. I am definitely not designed for summer. It hasn’t helped that our airconditioner is pretty close to useless so I haven’t been sleeping much either. The heat makes me crazy, but not in a fun-loving-let’s-party-all-night-long kind of way. More in an irrationally grumpy, I-can’t-think-straight, I’m-going-to-murder-the-next-person-who-says-they-love-summer kind of way. It’s not a good look. And don’t get me started on humidity as well!

In addition to extreme grumpiness, the heat also makes me so sleepy, unmotivated and lethargic. It induces me into a state of what I like to call, the sloth. When it’s hot I don’t want to do anything but lay on the couch being unmotivated and sloth-like. It takes a lot of effort and will-power to get me up and going. I overheat and sweat very easily so exercise is very difficult in the heat, which is annoying because exercise, as much as I hate it, seems to wake me up and energises me.

The heat also makes me feel cloudy. Yes, I know winter’s cold and miserable and full of sickness, but there’s nothing quite like that crisp morning air to make you feel mentally refreshed.

So the heat is a very good excuse (okay, mediocre excuse) for me not doing my Project 365. I’ve been incredibly slack with it, not only with not uploading any photos, but I’ve actually been really slack taking them. I don’t even want to think about how many fillers I’ll have over the last month. I have a lot of catching up to do. I’ve just felt incredibly unmotivated in terms of my photography. It kind of feels like a bit of a drag, and when something you normally love feels like a burden, then there’s something really wrong. I blame the crazy-inducing heat.

It feels like the longest summer ever. It was hot in November already, and it’s meant to be Autumn now but it sure doesn’t seem like it at all!

On the positive side of things, my washing always gets dry in summer. I also spied a few tiny little green leaves on the bonsai today. I definitely thought it was dead since we went away to NZ. I’ll just have to keep an eye on it so that the awful heat doesn’t take its life away again… as it has done to me!

(I should have put a warning at the start of this post that it may contain traces… okay, is TOTALLY melodramatic).

 

Leave a Reply

