Project 365 2012 – Day 352

Worst Blood Test Ever!

Worst Blood Test Ever!

I went to the doctor’s on the weekend for some routine check ups, and she wanted to run some blood tests as well. I’ve never had any issues with blood tests. My veins are easy to find and I have good blood flow. The only time I’ve ever had issues with when I gave blood for the first time and the nurse tied the thing around my arm too tightly and stopped all the blood flow. I’ve never had any issues until now.

Incompetent is putting it lightly. This woman seemed to have no clue, and she was a bit older so I don’t think it was because she was inexperienced. She took almost 5 minutes to find a vein, when I know I have 3 big usable veins in my left arm. She then tied the thing around my arm too tightly because she couldn’t find the vein, which then cut off my blood supply and gave me pins and needles in my fingers. She then complained that there wasn’t enough blood and asked if I was hydrated. Yes, I always drink a lot of water. She discarded the half filled vial and seemed to be really annoyed with me. She had to start again on my other arm. I suspect that she missed the vein because it was hideously bruised. I was not impressed.

This time she hit the vein, got some blood, but I have a feeling that she went through the vein when she jiggled the needle to get more blood because the picture above is what it looks like today. It hurt like crazy at the time, it hurt like crazy afterwards, and it hurts now. She then said I must just be the type to bruise easily, like it was my fault. I really should make speaking my mind one of my new year’s resolutions because I was fuming. What I should I have said was that “No, I don’t bruise easily. I’ve never had issues with blood tests, and it’s not my fault that you’re completely incompetent and crap at your job!” Instead I just smiled meekly and got out of there as fast as I could.

I’ll probably have to wear long sleeved shirts for the next few days so that I don’t scare my clients, and also put up with my husband’s endearing new nickname of Meth Addict Arms.

Sorry about the rant, but it’s a bit upsetting and I’m annoyed that I didn’t say anything at the time. As much as I’d like to make a complaint about her, I know that I won’t. All I know is that the next time I go for a blood test, there is no way I am letting her touch me!

Leave a Reply

