Project 365 2012 – Day 337 – NZ Day 16

Day 337 - Kayak

Day 337 – Kayak

Day 16 – Auckland to Cathedral Cove to Auckland

We finally found a beach that has sand instead of rocks, just like an Australian beach. We tried our hand at sea kayaking and we surprisingly worked well as a team. It was a bit of hard work and the husband would call me a slacker every time I needed a break. The guides were really good, gave us good instructions and were very knowledgeable. It was quite windy the further our we got from shore. I almost lost my hat, but thanks to my lightning fast reflexes (usually they’re pretty slow and lazy so it was surprising) I managed to rescue it. It was a beautiful way to see Cathedral Cove.

After grabbing some lunch we headed down to Cathedral Cove the old fashioned way, which involved a bit of walking in the heat. I didn’t take the SLR because I was worried about all the sand, and I even put my phone in a glad bag because the husband freaked me out about the sand scratching up the screen. It was a shame, but I also quite like not taking photos and just enjoying the experience. I think part of me just wants to take photos because my memory is rubbish and photos help me to remember exactly what it was like to be there.

We also tried the hot water beach, but we went at the wrong time for it. We took a stroll along the beach but it was windy and the sand kept whipping up like sandpaper. At least my legs were nice and exfoliated in a really painful kind of way!

Leave a Reply

