Project 365 2012 – Day 323 – NZ Day 2

Pier

Day 323 – Pier

Day 2 – Te Anau to Milford Sound to Te Anau

We woke up to the view of beautiful snow capped mountains and after eating a simple breakfast of instant noodles, we headed out for the day to Milford Sound, which is actually a fjord and was just incorrectly named. I’m often not a fan of tours, but I’m glad we took a bus because it gave us some time to relax, and our bus driver was not only knowledgeable, but very funny.

The drive and the weather were beautiful and we stopped off at a couple of places along the way including mirror lakes, drank some fresh river water , and saw some kea birds, which love tearing bits of rubber off the bus. I couldn’t believe how tall the mountains were and photos just don’t do this place justice.

We went on a boat cruise on Milford Sound, had lunch, saw seals and penguins and enjoyed the view. It was very very windy and I had to concentrate very hard not to drop my camera. We got really close to some of the waterfalls and some of the people standing on the lower deck got drenched. I saw the skipper of the boat laughing. He thought it was hilarious and he did warn them that it would get wet.

I don’t know what it is about buses, but on the way back everyone was falling asleep. I don’t know if it’s the motion of the bus, the long day, or maybe even the bus fumes. I blame my travel sickness pills. For some reason the more motion I experience, the sleepier I get even though the pills have caffeine in them. It feels like being drugged with sleeping pills because it’s uncontrollable. The husband finds it hilarious to watch me try and fight the sleepiness and eventually give up.

Back in Te Anau we had some dinner, I had seafood and the husband had roast lamb, and went for a walk along the lakeside, which is where the photo was taken. I took more photos of rocks as well, but I thought I shouldn’t post photos of rocks for this whole trip!

Leave a Reply

