Choices

IMG_4276

My friend raised a good point the other day, that if we weren’t being paid for what we are currently doing, would we still be doing it? In other words are you passionate about your job? I would probably say that for the majority of people it would be an overwhelming no.

My dad has always said that a job is just a means to make some money so that we can do the things we really want to do in life. This is coming from a man who came to this country with literally nothing. He worked hard at something he was overqualified to do, didn’t get paid very much and stuck with it for a very long time. He didn’t feel that he had a choice.

I have choices though. Growing up I was given the best opportunity to learn and succeed. It is this choice that leaves me overwhelmed and sets the bar high. I have choices to do what I want, work hard to get it, and actually achieve it. So why am I still at a loss?

While I realise that any job has its good and bad sides, I’m wondering what exactly is going to make me happy? Or maybe I will never find a job that fits that criteria, so I should just take my dad’s advice, as a means to justify the ends.

I thought that I loved my job, and I do love some aspects of it, but lately I’ve found myself feeling unsettled. Is this really what I want to be doing for the rest of my life? And if not this, then what?

I’ve never been a decisive person. I don’t own my decisions and I’m more likely to just let things happen or to let someone else make choices for me. I think it’s time for that to change.

Leave a Reply

