Japan – Tokyo

One of my workmates is getting married in October and she’s decided to go to Japan for her honeymoon. We got married in October 2010 and went to Japan for our honeymoon as well. We’ve been talking about it and where my favourite places were to go and it’s brought back wonderful memories.

I’ve dug up some photos for this Japan series. It was about 6 months after I got the DSLR as my engagement present. I wished I had taken more time to get better photos, but there was just so much to do and see.  I can also see that I’ve improved so much since then, but no matter how good photos are, they’ll never replace the images I have in my memory.

Part 1 is of Tokyo. Tokyo was such a bustling city, with amazing things to see where ever I looked. The people were polite and friendly, I never felt unsafe, and the food was just amazing. My first meal in Japan was ramen noodles in Suidobashi and I swear I would fly back in an instant just to eat these noodles again. I miss Japan and would love to go back one day.

The best noodles I’ve ever eaten. So cheap as well

The cutest tea set in our hotel room. I very much enjoyed drinking green tea in the bath after a day of exploring Tokyo.

No Japan trip is complete without sushi! We ate so much and never got sick of it.

Small stone children and pinwheels at a shrine near Tokyo tower. Sad and beautiful.

Pinwheels. I love the colours

Tokyo Tower. The mini Eiffel Tower of Tokyo.

Looking up inside Tokyo Tower

View from Tokyo Tower. The city just goes on forever. It makes Melbourne feel so tiny.

Crossing in Ginza

Wandering the streets. Even though there were so many busy parts, there were lots of lovely quiet streets as well.

Gardens around the Imperial Palace

Love the well groomed trees

More trees

Not sure what these flowers were called but they were all around the Imperial Palace.

Ikebukuro

Not sure what all the suits were doing standing in the middle of the intersection. Lots of good stuff to eat around there though.

Streets of Mitaka

Residential streets. Looks like it’s straight out of manga or anime.

Cute plaques on the lamp posts outside Ghibli Museum

Wishes at the Meiji Shrine

Wedding at Meiji Shrine

I think these are sake barrels around the Meiji Shrine, but I’m not really sure. Either way they looked interesting.

Giant spider sculpture in Roppongi

Buildings at night

Last look at Tokyo Tower.

8 thoughts on “Japan – Tokyo

  1. Pingback: Japan – Kyoto « Cookie Loves Milk

  2. Pingback: Japan – Hiroshima « Cookie Loves Milk

  3. Pingback: Japan – Miyajima « Cookie Loves Milk

  4. Pingback: Japan – Nara « Cookie Loves Milk

  5. Pingback: Japan – Kobe « Cookie Loves Milk

  6. Pingback: Japan – Fukuoka « Cookie Loves Milk

  7. Pingback: Japan – Osaka « Cookie Loves Milk

  8. Pingback: Japan – Matsumoto « Cookie Loves Milk

Leave a Reply

