Instagram

I’m probably very late to jump onto the Instagram bandwagon. I know many people have a lot of mixed opinions about Instagram out there. I have to admit that I was one of those people because I thought it was a bunch of posers and hipsters ruining their photos with terrible filters to make their photos look very low end film camera like. After biting the bullet and making myself an account and forcing myself to try to use it, I actually really like it.

There are a lot of really talented people out there and I’m finding their photos quite inspiring. It is also forcing me to rethink how I take photos, particularly with the iPhone. I’ve never really been able to figure out the iPhone camera but I’m slowly learning and experimenting because let’s face it, it’s a lot easier to carry around the phone (which my husband insists on me doing even though I’m terribly forgetful) than a giant DSLR. I’ve also never really understood or appreciated square crops, so it’s forcing me to branch out into something different.

I know a lot of the filters are very gimmicky, but sometimes they just work if you’re aiming for a certain feeling in the photo. Colour is an amazing tool for changing the mood of the photo. Also instagram lets you save unfiltered photos so you don’t have to use the filters.

A few things I still don’t like about Instagram are that it doesn’t have a browsable website, because I don’t like just looking at the photos on my phone. I also don’t like what I like to call hashtag abusers. I know they just want to promote their photos, but it makes it feel really messy when the list of hashtags takes up more space than the actual photo.

Either way I will keep using Instagram. There are some great tips here from Christina Dixon for mastering Instagram

My username is cookie_loves_milk if you would like to follow.

Darling Harbour, Sydney

Soccer ball lamp post

Seagull

View from the 75th floor of our Sydney hotel

Patterned cushion

Under the bridge

Market at The Rocks

Sydney Harbour Bridge

Sydney Opera House

Step of the Sydney Opera House

Tiles of the Sydney Opera House

Maple leaf

Bright shoe laces

Panel's at Parliament station

Mind the gap

Leave a Reply

