Spring!

It is the first day of spring today, marking the start of hayfever season. I thought I would celebrate by posting some macro shots of a pretty pink gerbera. I’m more of a hand-held kind of person so breaking out the tripod and trying to set it up was, well, interesting and not at all frustrating. I’ve never really used a macro lens before so it was an experience. I bought the lens in Hong Kong last year on my honeymoon, tossing up between the Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens or the  Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens. I obviously settled on the macro lens as I thought it would be more diverse. However I just haven’t had the time to really use it as there is so much basic photography I need to get right first before delving in. I still like how these shots turned out though and there’s plenty of time in the future to learn, consolidate and improve. I’m not used to such shallow depth of field, but I love it. White balance is all over the place… Should actually use custom white balance once in a while!

2 thoughts on “Spring!

Leave a Reply

